hungry child sketch

gipsy boy 4.

Pencil drawings in a traditional way, it has been a long time I didn’t use pencil but when I want to express the emotion of face, pencil drawing is the best tool for me. Also for me, pencil drawing is very much healing because it liberates my anxiety by letting lines go ups and downs repeatedly and it demands my breathing steady to control these flying lines, total dedication. Giacometti wrote on his book that the line from one to another on our face are too far too abstract, it is almost impossible to draw them. I feel he is so right about that. It is like an earth, I see the vast landscape on our face lines… in the end I cheat otherwise I would never make one face.

For me drawing is an expression from one place to another place, transformation. It shouldn’t be the same. The object I draw comes through me therefore when it comes out of me it should be different, normal. For example an apple on the table, as artists we see that apple in our particular ways combining our feeling (that’s why we want to draw not because it is there), the apple becomes an exclusive one. So drawing apple is not the same apple on the table anymore. That is how Picasso went wild far beyond.

In my art world, I still want to keep reality forms a lot into my drawings though I am cautious that if it goes too much detail, it kills all my emotions in that, at the same time lack of detail kills sincerity. I expect my drawings to be changed in few years as they goes deeper and deeper. This is hungry boy’s face, I feel his anger towards unfair reality, his unkind family or abused friends around, his deep hidden sadness and misery… Living in the dirty place, no education and no one brings him food… I wanted my compassion to be expressed so it was less darker mood than a real one.

Leave a comment